The best dinner I’ve ever eaten

The thought of best dinner brings to my mind exquisite dishes; chilly chicken, fried rice followed by some great dessert; gulab jamun maybe. However, I can easily recreate such an experience in any hotel. Considering this fact, my mind takes me back to the year 2005 when I had such a dinner which is still fresh in my memory.

vaishno-devi-pathway

At that time, I was on a family trip to the Mata Vaishno Devi Temple; which is located at Katra in Jammu and Kashmir. We started the hike early in the morning, moving through one turn after another, filled with enthusiastic chanting of “Jai Mata Di”. At around sunset, we reached the temple at the peak. After offering our prayers, all of us were pretty hungry and the only source of food at that hilltop was hot steaming rajma-chawal. There I was in the moment, after a long day of walk, up on a chilly hill-top, enjoying my hot dinner. That was the best dinner I’ve ever eaten.

dsc_0685

Leave a Reply

