The Third Leg

The morning sunshine broke through the window; my blanket was drenched with sweat. Electricity was out the whole previous night and the Chandigarh heat took its toll on us. You don’t want to wake up in a small room with no cooling in it, this was our present scenario. The unpleasant wake-up call was followed by morning routine, bathing and eating. Up next, we waited for the auto down the streets.

The plan was set, I was to go for simulation in bond graph theory and Manish would take care of the molecular dynamics problem. Soon we reached the place, as arid as ever. Special buses were entering through the gate meant only for the DRDO personnel. Our buddies were waiting for us. After showing some ID proof, we marched in to meet our destiny. Contrary to what I had thought earlier, the project assignment didn’t require much of an argument. The scientist was ready to go with what we had thought and told us the details of those projects. [By the way, the project work is classified and cannot be disclosed].

The doctor made it clear that this can work as a virtual internship and there was no need for us to stay at Chandigarh. This news was good for me as I would get some rest time at home and pursue the project from there only. But Manish really wanted some labour work and was not happy with the decision. The guys at the ATF section where given a working project, such that they would be coming to TBRL every day.

So, that was it. The travelling part of our internship was over and over for good. I met all my mates the next day and then went off to bhatinda. Boy, was I glad? Totally! I spent the next few months modeling and simulating the X-phenomenon. It’s a lot of work and the results are not so good yet but I consider myself lucky for this event. There’s no place like home.

It seems that this third leg marked the end of the typical internship which my fellow mates will be performing this summer. Right now, I’m sitting in an air-conditioned room, chilling out, playing games, doing new stuff and working whenever I feel like. No one can argue, this is the best part of a virtual internship.

If you are reading my blog to get some insight into the working of this defence organization and whether it is a good idea to go there? , then what I would suggest is that, it’s worth the bargain. You get few very experienced people around you in addition to the usual huge pool of novices. Who knows, maybe you can even get a paper published or even get a call from NASA {this bit was added by my mentor}. Anyways, if you got the passion and are willing to do hard work this is just the right place for you. I don’t know whether I will be able to complete this project or not, but some of the experience gained here will surely come handy all the way.
Author: Abhishek Ghosh

I am Abhishek living in a beautiful city called Barrackpore by the ganges. Mechanical Engineer by profession; I love physics, martial arts, trading. I will be very happy to hear from you guys

Leave a Reply

